ICC Champions Trophy 2013


ICC Champions Trophy 2013 is a One Day International cricket tournament to be held in England and Wales between 6th and 23rd June 2013. The 2013 competition will be the eighth staging of the tournament and the second time it has been played in England. The event, formerly known as the ICC Knockout, has been held six times.

Winners of the competition include South Africa (1998), New Zealand (2000), Sri Lanka and India (2002), who were joint winners after the final was washed-out, West Indies (2004) and Australia (2006 and 2009).

The tournament has been staged in Bangladesh (1998), Kenya (2000), Sri Lanka (2002), England (2004), India (2006) and South Africa (2009).

The 50-overs-a-side competition will take place over 18 days with matches taking place across Three cities: London (at The Oval), Birmingham (at Edgbaston) and Cardiff (at the SWALEC Stadium, known as Cardiff Wales Stadium for the tournament). The final of the 2013 edition will be staged at Edgbaston.

The 2013 ICC Champions Trophy will be contested by eight teams that which are seeded and divided into two groups. Each team play every other team in its group once. Following the group stage, the top two teams from each group progresses to the semi-finals, where the winner of Group A plays the runner-up of Group B (in the first semi-final) and the winner of Group B plays the runner-up of Group A (in the second semi-final). The winners of the semi-finals contest the final.

The winners of the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy will earn $2 million in prize money, the largest amount since the tournament’s inception. It will be the seventh and final ICC Champions Trophy, as it is due to be replaced by the ICC World Test Championship in 2017.