Caribbean Premier League 2013

Caribbean Premier League (CPLT20) is an annual Twenty20 cricket tournament held in the Caribbean by the West Indies Cricket Board. It was created in 2013 and replaced the Caribbean Twenty20 as the premier Twenty20 competition in the Caribbean. It is currently sponsored by Limacol and thus officially titled the Limacol CPL.

West Indies Cricket Board first announced the plans for the Caribbean Premier League in September 2012. On December 13, 2012, the WICB announced that they had finalized an agreement with Ajmal Khan founder of Verus International, for the funding of the league. As part of the agreement, the WICB will receive additional funding from Verus International for additional retainer contracts for players in addition to the 20 annual retainer contracts the board currently funds.

Dates for the tournament were confirmed for the 2013 Caribbean Premier League as 29 July to 26 August. The 2014 and 2015 tournaments will take place from 5 July to 10 August and 21 June to 26 July respectively.

Check here for Schedule:  Caribbean Premier League 2013 Fixtures

The tournament is played between six teams and is divided into a group stage and a knockout stage. In the group stage, the teams each play seven matches, three of which at home. The playoff stage includes two semi-finals and a final to determine the winner of the tournament.

The tournament includes six franchises with 15 contracted players each, including a maximum of four international players and four players under the age of 23. Each team has one local and one international franchise player.

Check the Squads here: Caribbean Premier League 2013 Teams & Squads

The event is being held on 6 different Caribbean Islands – Trinidad & Tobago, Antigua, Barbados, St. Lucia, Jamaica and Guyana.

bouncerThe mascot of the Caribbean Premier League has now got its name. The name was suggested by a cricket fan David Ross under a competition to name the mascot. David suggested the mascot name as Bouncer as it is very catchy name for children, West Indies are known for bouncy wickets and song of the CPL is also bouncy. The organizers finalized the name Bouncer after going through hundreds of name suggested by many fans on Facebook.

All cricket fans will soon going to experience more cricketing action, more cricket history and more fun as the world’s next biggest cricket event – the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will start from July 30, 2013 in Barbados. CPL has now become a point of attraction as different players of different countries are part of this event. However the world’s largest crowd puller Indian Players are not part of this tournament.

CPL might not be able to attract the BCCI with its plans but they are able to attract many players from major cricketing countries South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia, Pakistan, Bangladesh and New Zealand. CPL organizers are getting huge response from regional as well as international cricket fans that has caused a temporary slow down of their website for a short period. Organizers are getting huge response on Facebook as well on Twitter.

More Related:



cplt20 teams